clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Lewis unanimously wins 2020 AL Rookie of the Year Award

The Mariners stud rookie takes home the award for a brilliant first debut season.

San Francisco Giants v Seattle Mariners Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

After leading all rookies in several offensive categories, including fWAR, and surpassing expectations with his defense and baserunning, Mariners outfielder Kyle Lewis has won the BBWAA Jackie Robinson American League Rookie of the Year Award with all 30 first-place votes.

MLB Network

Lewis’ story is well-known at this time, overcoming a devastating knee injury that required multiple surgeries and waylaid three years of development in the minor leagues. His breakout September in 2019 foreshadowed a stellar 2020 campaign. The 25 year old slashed .262/.364/.437 in 242 PAs, playing 58 games and showing improvements in his plate discipline that are deeply encouraging for his long-term big league potential. Seattle was flush with talented rookies, as the Mariners had both the top AL position player rookie and pitching rookie in Justus Sheffield. With a wave of young players in the big leagues and on the cusp, including the two top outfield prospects in MLB in Jarred Kelenic and Julio Rodriguez, the future looks promising for Seattle’s young core.

Congratulations, Kyle!