clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sporcle Friday: Mariner Gold Glove Winners

this is brendan ryan erasure

Seattle Mariners v Chicago White Sox Photo by Ron Vesely/MLB Photos via Getty Images

In the history of the Seattle Mariners, 13 players have combined to win 39 Gold Glove awards. None of them are Brendan Ryan or Mike Zunino, widely regarded as the best defenders at their positions. Clearly, the Gold Glove process is flawed, as the honors tend to go to good defenders who are also great hitters.

The Mariners didn’t get their first Gold Glove until their 11th year of existence, when a pitcher secured the hardware. A pitcher also won the AL award in 2019 despite finishing the year in the National League. Catcher remains the only position in Mariner history without a Gold Glove, a distinction that Omar Narváez is nobly maintaining. Also, in researching the history of the Gold Gloves, I learned that a man named VIC POWER won seven straight at first base from 1958-1964

Try to guess every Mariner ever who was deemed a golden gloveman.