clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

8/13: Open Game Thread

Hisashi Iwakuma Vs. R.A. Dickey

The Hound
The Hound
Scott Halleran

One of the things about your baseball team spending 85% or so of its history being crappy is that whenever they do something good I assume it hasn't happened in a long, long time. For example if the Mariners beat the Blue Jays tonight (something they have a 60.8% chance of doing, per Fangraphs) they will have won 8 of 9 games at Safeco Field.

When would you say the last time was that happened? My initial thought was no more recently than 2009. But nope. Turns out from July 24-Aug 1 of 2012 the eventual 75-87 Seattle Mariners did exactly that. Coincidentally that 8th win came against the Blue Jays, as Blake Beavan outlasted Carlos Villenueva for the win. Pair the Beavaning with the fact that the win brought that team to 50-57 and I think I start to understand why I didn't remember that.

The point is that everything the Mariners have accomplished and could accomplish this year feels brand new. But it's not. The Mariners have been good before. You may not remember it. You may not have been born yet. You are young. Put your phone down and listen to me.

Anyways, please note that despite clinging to his L/R platoon in RF since the trade deadline Lloyd breaks it to go with Chris Denorfia against R.A. Dickey's Demonball. Another example of Lloyd managing the game in a very traditional sense until he decides it doesn't make sense for his roster. Against absolutely all logic I believe I have fallen for another baseball manager.

Let's root for Hisashi Iwakuma to dazzle, more offensive production and another winner for the unstoppable Teal Tide while we make amusing and insightful comments below.

Game Info

  • Mariners Vs. Blue Jays, 7:10 PST
  • TV: Root, Radio: 710 ESPN, Online: MLBTV

Today's Lineups

Jose Reyes - SS Austin Jackson - CF
Melky Cabrera - LF Dustin Ackley - LF
Jose Bautista - RF Robinson Cano - 2B
Adam Lind - 1B Kendrys Morales - DH
Dioner Navarro - DH Kyle Seager - 3B
Colby Rasmus - CF Chris Denorfia - RF
Munenori Kawasaki - 2B Logan Morrison - 1B
Juan Francisco - 3B Mike Zunino - C
Josh Thole - C Brad Miller - SS
R.A. Dickey - RHP Hisashi Iwakuma - RHP