clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

8/10: Open game thread

Erasmo Ramirez vs. John Danks.

Otto Greule Jr

As was announced last night, Erasmo Ramirez has been recalled from Triple-A to start this afternoon's series finale against the White Sox, while Lucas Luetge has been optioned to Tacoma. Ramirez will likely be sent back to Tacoma following this start to make room for James Jones, according to Ryan Divish's report.

Ramirez last started for the Mariners on July 22 against the Mets. He pitched his longest outing of the year, going seven innings and allowing five hits, two runs, and striking out a season-best 10 batters. Although the Mariners fell 3-1 to New York, it was a victory for Ramirez, who recovered the command of his change-up and fastball and proved to Lloyd McClendon that he could be used as an effective stopgap in the rotation when called upon. "This opportunity they gave me," Erasmo told The Olympian, "I wanted to show them that I've made the adjustments I need to make to throw strikes. I did that today, and I got to the seventh."

Opposite Ramirez is Chicago southpaw John Danks, who is looking for his 10th win this season. If he continues pitching the way he has for the last four games, however, that win could be delayed for a while. Since July 20, Danks has given up 33 hits, 24 runs, nine home runs, nine walks, and struck out 16 through 21 innings pitched. Fortunately for Danks (and unfortunately for the Mariners), he received an average of 5.75 runs of support in that stretch, and only took one loss -- a 16-0 shutout by the Rangers.

Game info

  • Mariners vs. White Sox, 1:10 p.m. PST
  • Today's game will be televised on ROOT Sports, broadcast on 710 ESPN, and available to out-of-market fans at MLB TV here.

Today's Lineups

Alejandro De Aza - LF Austin Jackson - CF
Alexei Ramirez - SS Dustin Ackley - LF
Jose Abreu - DH Robinson Cano - 2B
Adam Dunn - 1B Kendrys Morales - DH
Dayan Viciedo - RF Kyle Seager - 3B
Conor Gillaspie - 3B Chris Denorfia - RF
Tyler Flowers - C Logan Morrison - 1B
Jordan Danks - CF Chris Taylor - SS
Gordon Beckham - 2B Jesus Sucre - C
John Danks - LHP Erasmo Ramirez - RHP