clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

7/10: Open game thread

Tom Wilhelmsen vs. Yohan Pino.

Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

After his brief call-up and contribution in last night's 8-1 loss to the Twins, Stephen Pryor has been optioned back to Tacoma, with left-hander Lucas Luetge recalled for this evening's bullpen start.

Tom Wilhelmsen will kick things off for the first couple of innings. He hasn't been thrust into a starting role since his days in Double-A, but spoke to Lloyd McClendon about a potential spot in the rotation. This year, Wilhelmsen sports a 3.77 FIP through 47 innings, with a strikeout rate of 7.66 and walk rate of 4.21 per nine innings. He has lasted more than three innings on three separate occasions, and has not given up more than one run in an outing since May 24.

In 2011, he made 12 starts for the Double-A Jackson Generals, finishing the season with a 5.34 FIP and a career-low 5.93 SO/9 rate. During his best outing of the year, he went six innings against the Tampa Bay Rays' Double-A affiliate, keeping the game scoreless through the first three innings and issuing five hits, one walk, one run, and three strikeouts.

The Seattle Times' Jayson Jenks further elaborated on the conversation between McClendon and Wilhelmsen prior to yesterday's game. While Wilhelmsen is dominating as a long reliever, he didn't appear eager to relive his days in the Generals' rotation:

"If I can recall correctly," Wilhelmsen said, "Jackson didn't go so well so I'm probably not going to use anything from Jackson."

Game info

  • Mariners vs. Twins, 7:10 p.m. PST
  • Tonight's game will be televised on ROOT Sports, broadcast at 710 ESPN, and available to out-of-market fans at MLB TV here.

Today's Lineups

Brian Dozier - 2B Endy Chavez - LF
Kurt Suzuki - C James Jones - CF
Chris Parmelee - 1B Robinson Cano - 2B
Kendrys Morales - DH Kyle Seager - 3B
Josh Willingham - LF Corey Hart - DH
Oswaldo Arcia - RF Logan Morrison - 1B
Trevor Plouffe - 3B Michael Saunders - RF
Eduardo Escobar - SS Mike Zunino - C
Sam Fuld - CF Willie Bloomquist - SS
Yohan Pino - RHP Tom Wilhelmsen - RHP