clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Rowland-Smith Nominated For Roberto Clemente Award

Every team gets one nominee, and the Mariners went with RRS. What is the Roberto Clemente Award?

...the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet -- given to the player who best combines outstanding skills on the baseball field with devoted work in the community.

Ryan Rowland-Smith will not be winning the Roberto Clemente Award.

Other nominees who will not be winning:

-Geoff Blum
-James Loney
-John Baker
-Jeremy Affeldt
-Jensen Lewis
-Andy LaRoche
-Juan Pierre

Jensen Lewis and John Baker, for the record, have appeared in a combined 50 Major League games this season, and have been bad. That they came away as the Cleveland and Florida nominees for an award given to the player that best combines on-field performance with community service suggests that the Indians and Marlins are a bunch of suckbags and assholes.