clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minor League Wrap-Up: 4/14/05

...because Devin, like millions of other people around the country, is having a hell of a time with his Comcast connection.

Tacoma beat Sacramento, 7-5. Dan Meyer got slapped around by the top of the Rainiers' lineup, and not even an ugly appearance by Masao Kida could keep Cha Baek from picking up his second win. Mike Morse had the big hit of the day, a three-run homer in the third. Abraham Nunez drove in three runs as well.


Baek: 5 IP, 4 H, 2 ER, 2 BB, 2 K
Heaverlo: 1.1 IP, 2 H, 2 K
Santiago: 1-2, 2 BB
Nunez: 3-5, 1 2B
Morse: 2-5, 1 HR
Choo: 0-4

San Antonio fell to Midland, 4-3. Melvin Pizarro allowed a three-run homer in the fifth that wound up being the difference in the game, as the Missions couldn't get anything done against the Rockhound bullpen. Eriberto Menchaca was the only Mission with more than one hit, but his error in the fifth extended the inning, leading to the blast.


Sandoval: 4 IP, 7 H, 1 ER, 2 BB, 7 K
Betancourt-Perez: 1-5, 1 2B
Nelson: 1-3, 1 3B, 1 BB
Rivera: 1-4
Castro: 0-4

Inland Empire lost a tough one to High Desert, 6-5. Brian Stitt couldn't hold on to a one-run lead in the ninth as the Mavericks rallied for the win. Brandon Moorhead had a strong start and three 66'ers had multihit days, with Wladimir Balentien blasting his third homer of the season.


Moorhead: 7 IP, 7 H, 4 R (3 ER), 1 BB, 5 K
Garciaparra: 1-4
Jones: 0-3, 1 BB (!!)
Balentien: 2-4, 1 HR
Lahair: 0-3, 1 BB
Rogelstad: 2-4, 1 BB

Wisconsin won a 1-0 squeaker over Quad Cities. Rob Johnson's RBI single in the third provided enough support for the pitching staff, as Aaron Jensen tossed an effective six innings and the bullpen kept the shutout intact. Oswaldo Navarro and Matt Tuiasosopo had multihit days for the Timber Rattlers.


Jensen: 6 IP, 5 H, 3 BB, 4 K
Navarro: 2-4
Womack: 1-3, 1 BB
Tuiasosopo: 2-3, 1 BB
Chen: 1-4
Johnson: 1-4

Dan Reichert starts Tacoma's home opener tonight against Fresno at 10:05pm EDT. On down the chain, Tom Oldham starts for San Antonio, Kevin Olore for Inland Empire, and (probably) Jason Snyder for Wisconsin. Links to all live broadcasts are on the right-hand menu.